Announcement: Books, a new website, and the short story collection plans

I’ve been thinking about writing a post on the idea of gatekeepers and how even they sometimes have no idea what will sell and what won’t – triggered by the enormous response to often-rejected new smash hit The Night Circus – but that might have to wait another week because it’s Monday without me even realising it. I’ve been busy reading this week: I finished Artemis Fowl, devoured Paranormalcy, and am currently reading Nevermore. I got a great haul of books in from the Book Depository courtesy of my best friend back home that included the two most recent Night Huntress books, The Wolves of Mercy Falls Trilogy, Matched, and Bumped (which I have been wanted to read like since FOREVER).

Also, as a completely unrelated side note, my Goodreads rank has increased from #46 to #27 of the best reviewers of the month for Britain. I’m pretty excited by that because writing cuts a lot into my reading time and reading cuts a lot into my writing time, so I have to find a balance for the two. Right now with my awesome to-be-read pile waiting deliciously behind me, calling me silently like a siren (or my world’s version of banshees), I’m taking time out from writing something that doesn’t want to be written (I mysteriously lost 500 words).

And now I’d like to direct you to my brand-spanking new website, which is almost superfluous but really really pretty. Everyone in the indie author blogosphere recommends authors get personal websites and even though this blog has all of my information, I’m interested in seeing if people interact with the blog through the website. You can find the new website here:

Lissa Bilyk’s new website

It’s not self-hosted as yet because my immediate future is rather uncertain – I have no idea if I’ll be moving to Australia any time soon so I don’t want to commit to anything until we sort that out.

I’m also considering putting up some of my paranormal short stories on Smashwords for FREE. When the Tina Storm: Demon Hunter Paranormal Short Story Collection is primed and ready I’ll increase their prices to 99c but keep the actual book cheaper than all of them combined. Tell me what you think of this idea in the comments. Like it? Loathe? Demands that I do it RIGHT NOW? Let me know.

Posted on September 26, 2011, in Procrastination Station, Writerly Musings and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. I like your website. It’s better than some indie author websites I’ve seen by a country a mile. I like the idea about the short stories too, it’s a good way to raise publicity for yourself.

  2. The website’s good. The only comment I’d make is, with your genres written in lower case, I read “YA” as “ya”. For a second I thought, er what’s ya fantasy…? Maybe write it out fully as young adult?

  3. Love the new website!

    About your short stories: count me in the do it RIGHT NOW category. :)

