NaNoWriMo Begins! The Soundtrack Edition

nanowrimoHey kittens.

Today marks the beginning of NaNoWriMo 2011 and as such, I’m sharing my playlist for the month.

Normally when I write, I can only listen to instrumental music, and it has to be something relatively new so I don’t recognise melodies and get distracted by the familiarity and start singing along. Which has been known to happen. Songs I know just distract me. So while I do have more music that just this, this is the playlist that is most unfamiliar to me.

  • Escala (self-titled string quartet)
  • Wild: Time (string, piano band)
  • The Planets: Classical Graffiti (classical instrumental band)
  • Secret Garden: Dawn of a New Century
  • Secret Garden: Dreamcatcher
  • Secret Garden: Earthsongs
  • Secret Garden: Once in a Red Moon
  • Secret Garden: Songs from a Secret Garden
  • Secret Garden: White Stones
  • Murray Gold: Doctor Who Season 1
  • The BBC National Orchestra of Wales: Doctor Who Season 3
  • Murray Gold & The BBC National Orchestra of Wales: Doctor Who Season 5
  • Danny Elfman: Wanted film score
  • David Hirschfelder: Legend of the Guardians film score
  • The Red Dead Redemption Original Soundtrack (video game)
  • Klaus Badelt: The Pirates of the Caribbean: The Curse of the Black Pearl
  • Hans Zimmer: The Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Man’s Chest
  • Hans Zimmer: The Pirates of the Caribbean: At World’s End
  • Alexandre Desplat: Twilight: New Moon (The Score, not the soundtrack)
  • Mozart’s Requiem
  • The Best Classical Album In The World… Ever! (that is the actual name)
  • Two classical compilations I’ve had since I was a teenager: Swooning and Rapture.

Also included are some random instrumental versions of songs by classical crossover artists, for distracting me when I need a break.

It’s 473 songs, 1 day’s worth according to my Ipod, and 2.88 GB of music.

I think I’m prepared.

Posted on November 1, 2011, in NaNoWriMo, Storm of Blood (Storm Force #1) and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Nice playlist! I have a few of these songs on my iPod, but there are a few I want to add, like the Secret Garden songs.

    Good luck with NaNoWriMo! :)

