NaNoWriMo Day 21: Conversations With Dead People

Don’t you just love my Joss Whedon references?

Word Count Goal: 35,007

Achievement: 39,016

Soundtrack: The Phantom of the Opera original West End recording and some mixed writing music from a previous playlist.

Today’s scene extended Tina’s conversation with the female vampire, who I’ve named with the place holder Jane. I didn’t know how it was going to turn out, but I clumsily managed to get them allied and even tentative friends. That will require some going over for the second draft. Jane wants something from Tina, and Tina wants something from Jane. Also, Chelsea showed up, which was interesting. I mean, she had to be at the party because she has an important role to play, but her reaction to Tina being there with Lachlan made the mean girl in me lash out. Oops. I also hinted that maybe Connor is bisexual, which is totally awesome, because we need more LGBT characters in young adult fiction.

Part of me wants to skip ahead because I miss Ten only like HEAPS and I want him to come back in, but I know I need to play out the rest of the scene before he can even get there so I need to stick to my guns and write what comes to me before he arrives. Oh Ten, why are you so awesome?

Posted on November 21, 2011, in NaNoWriMo, Storm of Blood (Storm Force #1) and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Love the Buffy reference! That was a mind-blowing episode, and an awesome way to introduce (or I guess re-introduce) The First Evil. Anyway, it sounds like things are moving along well with your novel! I’m trying not to read too much, because I plan to read it when it’s published, and I don’t want to spoil anything. But I love following along with your progress. 4,000 words above your goal! You’re doing awesome!

    • I know, I’m spoiling it! I feel kind of bad, but i really wanted to write this month’s posts this way and relate what it was like to write a novel every day and all the challenges that came with it and all the twists that happened as part of the process.
      I’m really sorry, but I hope even if I do spoil anything that you really enjoy it when it’s ready next year!

      • No, don’t feel bad! I really like seeing your thought process behind each part of the story; where you get caught, and how you get your characters into and out of it each time. I think it’s really cool…I’m just reading your posts with one eye closed, not wanting to be spoiled, but too interested to stop. Lol. I’ll still enjoy it next year, regardless. I’m way too invested in Tina’s story. :)

