Sometimes I feel like I’m fighting a losing battle.

Is anyone going to be interested in a paranormal with no vampires, werewolves, faeries, fallen angels and all that rot?
Is anyone going to be interested in a fantasy with no dragons, elves or wizards in pointy hats?
Is anyone going to be interested in an 18th century equivalent non-steampunk world, instead of a medieval or urban one?
Is anyone going to be interested in something that’s different to what they’re used to consuming?

The basics are still there. A strong young female protagonist, her friends, an unwilling love triangle, saving the world from evil while trying to find her own place…

But will anyone read it?

2 thoughts on “Sometimes I feel like I’m fighting a losing battle.

  1. Charlotte says:

    Oh wow. In a word (or two words) I AM.

    I write fantasy without elves or pointy-hat-wearing wizards. No dwarves or ancient curses either. Certainly no prophecies and destiny. I like to read it, too.

    I’m also setting my current novel in a world which draws more from eighteenth century than medieval history, without being overtly steampunk.

    And I cheer for strong female protagonists.

    When is it going to be released?

    Like

  2. Lissa says:

    Hi Charlotte, thanks so much for your comment.
    At the moment I can’t confirm a release for any of the novels. I thought my first novel was nearly ready, but then I decided to rewrite it, split it, shift it around.
    I would like to say Dadewalker, the first of the fantasy series, will be available late this year, and the same for The Edge of Darkness, my stand alone sci-fi; but at this point in time I can’t confirm anything as I have other priorities like moving back to Australia (from England), finding a job, finding a house, planning a wedding etc.

    Like

Comments are closed.