30 Day Book Challenge: Day One

Day One: Your Favourite Book

Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte, 1847.

I love the flaws in this book: passion, the selfishness, the grief of the main characters. I love that it’s set in a very small location over a few generations – it’s a family epic, and I love that. I love that it’s told from multiple points of view (narration within narration within narration) which is pretty awesome for a book written in 1847.

This picture is from the 2009 BBC miniseries, which I think was a gorgeous adaptation.

4 thoughts on “30 Day Book Challenge: Day One

  1. julihoffman says:

    I just finished reading Wuthering Heights. So many characters to love and hate! Is it just me, but I was glad when Linton died! What a pain in the tush! I have to say that Heathcliff turned out to be my favorite character. He’s so complex. It’s amazing to be able to read Emily Bronte’s words, a century and a half later, and still feel so much emotion.

    Like

    • Lissa says:

      I do like Heathcliff in the novel, not so much in the BBC version the image is taken from. Also, in the novel I pretty much hate Cathy and I love her in the BBC version…

      Like

Comments are closed.