30 Day Book Challenge: Day Six

Day Six: A book that makes you cry

The MasterHarper of Pern by Anne McCaffrey.

There are a lot of books that make me cry. I could have filled this particular day with a few more. Particularly Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix, but I figure Harry Potter is already so well-known that I’d choose one less well known but still powerful.

The MasterHarper of Pern follows the life of Robinton, Pern’s most well-loved citizen, from his childhood as a musical prodigy with a jealous father, to his marriage to a beautiful woman who dies on their honeymoon, to the revolution that destroys Lord Fax’s stranglehold on the holds, and then discovering AIVAS.

Robinton is not only the greatest Harper (kind of like a musician and a teacher) in the world, but he can also talk to dragons and they will respond to him. They do this from a very young age. That’s a queen dragon on the cover, notoriously uptight and dangerous – but child-Robinton is fearless and speaks to her anyway. Dragons only normally speak to their riders. Rob was special from the beginning.

I’m so glad Robinton got his own book, because all through the Pern series I wanted to know more about him. He’s gentle, caring, and tough. He’s like everyone’s favourite uncle. And when he dies (peacefully) I cried like a baby. Like a hungry, angry baby.

2 thoughts on “30 Day Book Challenge: Day Six

  1. Kathy says:

    “Like a hungry, angry baby” – I believe I indulged in a cry that suits that description earlier this year 😉
    I’ve thought about reading the Dragonrider of Pern books, after realising the Eragon must be at least in part inspired by them, but haven’t gotten around to it so far. Too many other books to read!

    Like

    • Lissa says:

      They’re kind of old school, actually. Traditionally written, with good old-fashioned problems such as getting enough food for the growing population. The first book in the series was written in the late 60s. The series covers a big timespan in the world of Pern. I’ve endeavoured to collect all the books – you know, when I have the disposable income 🙂

      Like

Comments are closed.