30 Day Book Challenge: Day Twenty

Day Twenty: A book you would recommend to an ignorant/racist/closed minded person

Animal Farm by George Orwell.

Apart from the fact that I don’t believe ignorant people read, I would recommend Animal Farm because it is a great study into the power struggles and metaphorical history of Europe. I’m not sure this book would do any good to educate said ignorant/racist/close minded people: honestly, I don’t know any people like that. I make it my business not to associate with them.

I’d recommend this book because it shows just exactly how ignorance and greed, indifference and short-term goals can really break any idea of an utopia. It would certainly reinforce their belief in corrupt governments, but hopefully it would educate on the idea of revolution.

Hopefully this book would teach others to question authority: not simply hate on everyone in a position of power when things don’t go their way (as is the case in Australia when people complain about the government – they don’t know how good they’ve got it and voting is compulsory) but in other countries that have recently tried to change themselves such as Libya and Tunisia.

It is the idea of people easily believing propaganda that I hope this book will be able to educate and show a different side. Ignorant people are no better than poor Boxer, or the sheep in this book. Racist people are no better than the pigs. Close-minded people are no better than Benjamin the donkey who, although he recognised the signs of corruption, did nothing about it.

Of course, this is hoping that such racist, ignorant, and close-minded people can actually find the parallels between Stalin Russia and the plot of this book. They’d need a reading companion with them to explain it all. I think I’m giving them too much credit.

4 thoughts on “30 Day Book Challenge: Day Twenty

  1. Kathy says:

    “Apart from the fact that I don’t believe ignorant people read” = classic

    I haven’t yet read this book, and missed out on studying it as school, but I’m planning on finding a nice copy and reading it sometime in the next 40 years ^_^

    Like

    • Lissa says:

      In short, because it is an amazing story – so long as you understand it’s about Stalinist Russia. When you do get your hands on a copy, perhaps you should try and make it one of those academic copies with an introduction and so forth to explain which animals represent which group of people. I think you’ll enjoy it more if you understand it that way.

      Like

Comments are closed.