The 4am Miracle

I got up this morning at 4.30am to write a heart-wrenching conversation two characters were having in my head.

I didn’t expect this conversation to ever take place. It’s in Book 3 of the Innocence Saga, which is only half-written and not a priority. But because I’ve re-written parts of Book 2, and because Book 1 and Book 2 are both in editing stages and I can dedicate more time to thinking about Book 3, this conversation suddenly seemed very important.

Normally I hate getting out of bed in the middle of the night. It’s training instilled in me, leftover from my childhood: once you were sent to bed, you stayed there. My partner is more laid-back. He was asleep, but I know if he were awake, he’d tell me to get up and go write it down, especially as I seemed to be having an epiphany through Innocence’s eyes and words. And really, when you’re a professional novelist, don’t you have the luxury of writing whenever you want, be it at 6am, 9am, 3pm or 3am?

In my earlier half-written draft of Book 3 (before the plot was overhauled), this conversation needn’t take place. Innocence was a different character: sassy, confident, friendly. But after I finished Book 2, things changed. I realised she was more damaged than I thought. She’s reserved, untrusting, and vulnerable. Her pain hurts me, too. She’s the character that’s been with me the longest, and I put her through a lot of crap (including several abandoned storylines and race changes).

I shed a tear as I wrote last night. Readers probably won’t be able to tell which section I’m talking about. But it means a lot to me, and hopefully that comes out in my writing. I’d hate all this emotion to go to waste. I’d hate to think that I should have stayed in bed, after all.

6 thoughts on “The 4am Miracle

  1. Archer says:

    4am miracles are the shit. I used to get them quite often. But now my inspiration has abandoned me completely

    Like

    • Lissa says:

      That’s OK honey, you’re still writing your game reviews at least.
      Also, I never used to act on my 4am miracles when I lived with my parents. Since I got my laptop, though, it’s a whole other story. Literally. LOL – I made a funny.

      Like

        • Lissa says:

          You’ve got other priorities at the moment. That’s OK. When things settle down and you sort a plot, you’ll be right to start writing. Who knows – you might even get your own 4am miracle.

          Like

  2. Penelope says:

    Wow, sounds awesome! I love this post, as it shows how much you love your characters! I’m not a writer, but I do think that emotions play a huge part in stories. Go you! 🙂

    Like

Comments are closed.