30 Day Book Challenge: Day Twenty-Nine

Day Twenty-Nine: An author that you completely avoid/hate/won’t read

Stephen King

Look, I don’t have anything against Stephen King. I think his career has been incredible. I’ve enjoyed – kind of – some of the movies I’ve seen adapted from his books. I just genuinely have no interest whatsoever in reading anything he’s written.

My partner tells me he’s only ever written two books, and that every other book is a complete copy of those previous books. I wouldn’t know, because I’ve never read a Stephen King book.
Here’s a list of his film adaptations that I didn’t totally hate:
The Shining.
Stand By Me
The Shawshank Redemption (my partner’s favourite film.)
The Green Mile

One day I might pick up a Stephen King book and I really hope I enjoy it. I would like all the hype around his name to be founded. In the meantime, I’m too busy hunting down novels that actually appeal to me. And I’m sorry to say that Mr King simply does not.