30 Day Book Challenge: Day Thirty

Day Thirty: An author that you will read whatever they put out

Louise Cooper (May 29, 1952 — October 21, 2009)

My favourite author in the whole world was Louise Cooper. She was a very talented lady who sold a lot of mass paperback fantasy novels in the 80s and 90s, with a resurgence in the late 2000s. She passed away from a brain aneurysm on October 21, 2009, halfway through writing the sequel Bad Seed to the popular spin-off Daughter of Storms trilogy.

She quit school at age 15, sold her first book at age 20, and became a full-time writer at age 25. At her time of death, she had published over 80 fantasy and supernatural novels.
She is my role model because everything she writes is pure magic. Even the most monotonous of plots or scenes will be filled with anticipation and perfect suspense.

I have collected quite a few of her books, but I am by no means fulfilled. Sometimes it is hard to track down the novels, because a lot are out of print. I scored my stand alones and my versions of the Time Master trilogy and its sequels and prequels on Ebay and in second hand bookstores. In fact, the only books I paid for new was the Daughter of Storms trilogy, when I was about 15 years old.

One of the reasons I wanted to move to England was the hopes that one day I might be able to travel to Cornwall and meet her, but she passed away in 2009 before I got the chance. She was an active member of her message boards, though, (when she had the time) so at least I did get my opportunity to tell her how much I adore her writing and how much it inspires me.

