What I’m Working On I

I want four short stories to accompany my 5 Tina Storm: Demon Hunter short story collection. Currently I have three completed that fit in with the paranormal genre: guardian angels, ghosts, and one that’s so odd and non-type specific that I only know it’s paranormal (that’s The Archive of Lost Dreams).

As a side note, I was trying to rewrite a story I wrote when I was a teenager about a witch that visited the Underworld, but it just wasn’t working. So I gave up and decided to write an new urban story. After all, there is great joy in writing something entirely new.

My newest story is about fairy changelings. It’s my first fairy story ever, and I’m very excited about writing it. Once again, like Don’t Even Peep and The Archive of Lost Dreams, the protagonist is a very young girl. I think she’s seven or eight – these things can be hard to judge, and unless she turns around and tells me exactly how old she is, I’m not going to know for sure (much like Susan in Don’t Even Peep).

I’m focusing on producing classic types of stories for the collection, because short stories can be hard to sell (especially if it’s only a small collection). I’m using elements everyone recognises such as vampires, werewolves, and sirens; as well as lesser utilised demon types such as djinn (genies) and reapers.

Hopefully this small collection will bring new readers to my larger books, even though none of them are very mainstream.

5 thoughts on “What I’m Working On I

  1. Penelope says:

    Ooh, I love fairy stories! Yay for including one with a changeling. 🙂

    This collection sounds interesting. I love the paranormal/supernatural aspects that you are including. I’ll have to check it out when the collection is finished!

    Like

  2. Sari Webb says:

    It must be fun to be able to write about so many different paranormal elements in your short stories. I haven’t written many shorts but it seems a lot less restrictive than novel writing.

    Like

    • Lissa says:

      Yes it is fun – but it’s also very odd. My novels are so different to mainstream literature (content-wise: my own take on lesser utilised creatures such as banshees, undines, sylphs etc. and in my sci-fi, cyborgs) that writing the better-known creatures like vampires is at the same time restrictive and kind of empowering. I’m beginning to understand why so many authors write the major contenders such as vampires and werewolves.

      Like

Comments are closed.