Seven Deadly Sins Flash Fiction Challenge: Day Two: Envy

7 deadly sins EnvyLady Antimony is hosting a week-long  Seven Deadly Sins flash fiction challenge. It started yesterday.

The premise of the challenge is as follows:
Seven Days
Seven Deadly Sins
Seven Flash Fictions up to 100 words
Starting 7/7

Today is Envy. Sorrow for another’s good.

Seven Deadly Sins: Envy

“If I had been in the same situation, I would have done the same thing. Why does he get a bravery award? It wasn’t terrifically dangerous, wading into deep water to get that kid’s hat. It’s so stupid.”

“I dunno, mate.”

“It doesn’t make any sense. It could have been anyone. It could have been me. I could be standing on that stage right now, shaking hands with the mayor. But instead, some brat gets some award for doing something not even dangerous.”

“It was deep water known to have a rip tide.”

“But still. It could have been me.”

10 thoughts on “Seven Deadly Sins Flash Fiction Challenge: Day Two: Envy

  1. glitterlady says:

    I keep thinking to myself, “Did he really get a bravery award for saving a hat? Not even a person?” That makes the guy’s envy that much more potent because he is envious over something as stupid as saving a hat… lol Love it!

    Like

    • Lissa says:

      Believe it or not, this is actually based on a true story. It happened when I was about ten years old. I was the envious one. The girl who got the award did so because she stopped a little boy from retrieving his hat.

      Like

  2. Rosie Lane says:

    I feel so much better after reading your comment. The mother in me was yelling, “Forget the hat!” The envy was nicely petty, trying to downplay the achievement.

    Like

  3. Margaret says:

    Love how different this is from your first one. Totally different tone feel and a really strong voice. I think everyone has had a moment like this!

    Like

  4. Bryce Daniels says:

    Good take on envy! I can relate to standing by while watching someone else receive an award. Causes a slow burn in the soul, eh?
    Great job! Keep ’em coming.

    Like

  5. David A Ludwig says:

    Love what you’re doing with the text color, and how this one is entirely in dialogue. Cool that we have the envious one contrasted with their ‘mate’ who seems to agree that it was stupid but isn’t nearly as worked up about it.

    Like

Comments are closed.