Foreign Cover Friday: The Initiate by Louise Cooper

Foreign Cover Friday is a weekly meme hosted by The Reading Fever, where foreign covers of the books we know and love are spotlighted and discussed. To join, either pick your favourite foreign cover, or pick many foreign covers, and start discussing!

This is the first week I have been involved with Foreign Cover Friday, even though I’ve read every entry The Reading Fever put up. I’ve always had a post to do on Fridays but this week I thought, why not? So we’re taking a look at my favourite author’s most successful book:

The Initiate (Time Master #1) by Louise Cooper

Down all the ages the twin powers of Order and Chaos have been locked in an eternal struggle for control of the worlds of men.

Somewhere beyond the realms we know, in a time when Order has triumphed, a child is born; a nameless outcast destined to restore the terrible balance. This is the tale of his initiation….

image          image

The cover on the left is the first imprint of the book published way back in 1985 by Tor Books. The cover on the right is the more recent (2005) re-print by Mundania Press. The left version shows Tarod, our protagonist, bundled up in a cloak facing Yandros, another major character in the books. The left cover showcases Sashka, a Very Important Character. To Ms Cooper’s request, they did not put Tarod on the cover.

image          image

This is what I assume must be the French covers (left 2001, right 2003). The left version shows a very detailed portrait of Tarod with his long, sexy wild black hair and his soul-piercing green eyes. The ring makes an appearance, too. The only problem with this is that it doesn’t leave his appearance up to the reader’s imagination. But I actually really like it.  The cover on the right… I don’t even know where to start. I’m pretty sure that’s meant to be Yandros in the background but I have no idea what Tarod is doing on the floor with an arm that appears to be made of metal.
Translation: The Master of Time Book One: The Initiate.

image          image

These two Spanish versions (I believe) shows slightly less of his face. I don’t like the blue border on the left – it look gaudy! And I’m not sure what sword he’s holding. Perhaps the cover artists read the memo and went, “A fantasy! He must hold a sword, then.” And the cover on the right? I don’t even know what they’re trying to do to that. An old guy who looks like Death holding a staff? It’s not even close to anything in the book. I wouldn’t pick up either of them.
Translation: Mr Time, The Insider (according to Google translate?)

image

It’s a bit hard to see in this cover, but in this version, Tarod looks just like Colin Firth channelling Heathcliff of Wuthering Heights. I had the trilogy in this 1993 HarperCollins UK covers, but I gave them to a friend to read and he moved away and we lost contact Sad smile.

What are your thoughts?

Which covers do you like? Which do you hate?

Check back at The Reading Fever for her Foreign Cover Friday!

4 thoughts on “Foreign Cover Friday: The Initiate by Louise Cooper

    • Lissa says:

      I’ll be doing these posts on Fridays from now on, unless something else comes up. It’s awesome fun showcasing covers I love.

      Like

  1. Penelope says:

    “Tarod looks just like Colin Firth channelling Heathcliff of Wuthering Heights.” Best. line. ever. Hahaha.

    I like the first French cover the most. He does look rather sexy, and with the title, it is totally a book I would pick up. I also like the description of this book. I’m going to have to add it to my TBR, because now I’m interested! 🙂

    Thanks for participating!

    Like

Comments are closed.