Seven Virtues Flash Fiction Challenge: Day One: Chastity

Lady Antimony is hosting a week-long Repentance: The Seven Virtues flash fiction challenge.

The premise of the challenge is as follows:
Seven Days
Seven Virtues
Seven Flash Fictions up to 100 words
Starting August 7.
I cannot refuse this Disney themed Seven Virtues artwork from http://pat7.deviantart.com.

The Seven Virtues are not as easily defined as the Seven Deadly Sins. Each virtue has a host of different meanings. So with my Seven Virtues, I’ll be defining which particular aspect of that Virtue I’m following.

Today is Chastity: Abstaining from sexual conduct.

We raced over the moors, her skirts flying behind her and my vest flapping in the breeze. We laughed and shrieked and tumbled together, landing in a mass of limbs on the grass. I pushed the hair off her face.

“You’ll always be mine,” she whispered, and wrapped her arms around me. I laughed again, giddy, drunk on her love. Knowing that she meant it, even when she was engaged to another, and shared his bed and not mine. We would always run the moors together, childhood friends.

“I love you,” I said, although it meant something different to her.

To be continued…

Posted on August 7, 2011, in Bloghop, Flash Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 23 Comments.

  1. Oh Em GEEEEEEE Lissa!
    This is so good! I am just DYING to read the next bit!

    I might have to abstain from reading all yours until the very end so I can read them all at once! Haha! Not really, the suspense would seriously harm me.

    Are you thinking of compiling all the short stories into one post at the end for my reading pleasure?

    • Oh, really? Here I was worried people wouldn’t actually ‘get it’.
      It will only take a week. I don’t mind if you abstain. It will make me sad. Maybe I will email you the whole document once all the posts have gone up.

  2. Have I ever told you how much I hate when people use cliffhangers like that… You will have to be punished

  3. I’m gonna get you when you least expect it

  4. You lie. I take you by surprise regularly

  5. Lissa, this is great, just a little bit each day, and each about a different virtue. Can’t wait to see how you manage it. :)

  6. At least no one screamed “No, not you!” and ran into a dagger. I hate Mercedes Lackey for that…

    Can’t wait for the next one, I want to know what “I love you” meant to her. Great idea making the 7 virtues into a story instead of stories.

    • I’m sorry, I don’t understand the Mercedes Lackey reference? I admit, I think I’ve only read one or two books by her. Or co-written.

  7. Cliffhanger. Damn you. Now I have to wait until tomorrow!

    A x

  8. I’m feeling for him! Maybe he will try to get her drunk tomorrow and she will resist ;) – really great, I love the way they tumble and the words tumble. Can’t wait to see what you do next!

  9. What a beautifully creative way to tackle this challenge! I agree with the others. I love, in other words hate with a passion and curse the very PC you work on, the way you are going to keep us hanging. Great job!

  10. My favorite thing is that she doesn’t have to be a virgin to exemplify Chastity. It doesn’t mean never having sex, it means not having sex when you shouldn’t (in this case with the guy she’s not married to). Also love the idea of it all stringing out into a full story.

  11. Nice intro to something. This is going to be a linked series, then? Guess I’ll find out very shortly.

  12. I love this flash fiction challenge. I’m excited to read the rest (although I made a mistake and read the latest two first….).

