Seven Virtues Flash Fiction Challenge: Day Two: Temperance

seven_virtue___temperance_by_pat7-d36b78hLady Antimony is hosting a week-long Repentance: The Seven Virtues flash fiction challenge.

The premise of the challenge is as follows:
Seven Days
Seven Virtues
Seven Flash Fictions up to 100 words
Starting August 7.
I cannot refuse this Disney themed Seven Virtues artwork from http://pat7.deviantart.com.

The Seven Virtues are not as easily defined as the Seven Deadly Sins. Each virtue has a host of different meanings. So with my Seven Virtues, I’ll be defining which particular aspect of that Virtue I’m following.

Today is Temperance: Practising self-control, restraint.

I took her in my arms, and inhaled her scent. The warmth of her skin made me dizzy. My hands strayed from her waist to her back, but no lower. She shifted slightly, and the straps of her dress slipped from her shoulders. I wanted nothing more than to devour her, to possess her, to make her mine entirely. She belonged to me, after all: one half of my soul. I was hers completely. She was me. There was no longer any difference.

Except that I could not have her.

For she no longer belonged to me. Not any more.

To be continued…

Posted on August 8, 2011, in Bloghop, Flash Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 20 Comments.

  1. A perfect example of self restraint. Can’t wait to read the rest

  2. I feel sorry for the poor bloke!
    Wonderful portrayal of self control.
    I have to admit, I sort of want to slap the clueless girl. And say something like this: “don’t you realise how much you tempt him when your clothes don’t stay put?!!”

    • oh! I’m a crazy christmas tree!

      • BAHAHA!
        “don’t you realise how much you tempt him when your clothes don’t stay put?!!” – Well, yes. I think this is only the second time ever I’ve written from a male’s POV. It sure is interesting. And that poor girl…
        LOL crazy Christmas tree.

  3. That’s just mean. I want to know this ends badly…
    Good job keeping the readers on the edge of the seat and portraying the virtues at the same time.

    • Well, the good news is you’ll get a little bit more each day until the challenge is up. Thanks very much for stopping by!

  4. I’ve got a bad feeling that this isn’t going to have a happy ending – and I want to read more!

  5. Great job! Makes me wonder how they were once eachothers but not anymore… I crave back story. :-)

  6. Very nice. Sexy and still within the boundaries of “temperance.” Nicely done.

  7. I love that we shift from her perspective to his and remain Virtuous. This could very well be an ideal opening for Courtly Love, which as a fan of such I don’t see this needing the bad-ending others predict. But I suppose we shall see.

  8. Uh oh. So she has been his in the past, but no longer. But clearly they aren’t platonic. Interesting.

  9. Aw, poor guy! Such a sad situation. :(

