Seven Virtues Flash Fiction Challenge: Day Three: Charity

seven_virtue___charity_by_pat7-d36b78h

Lady Antimony is hosting a week-long Repentance: The Seven Virtues flash fiction challenge.

The premise of the challenge is as follows:
Seven Days
Seven Virtues
Seven Flash Fictions up to 100 words
Starting August 7.
I cannot refuse this Disney themed Seven Virtues artwork from http://pat7.deviantart.com.

The Seven Virtues are not as easily defined as the Seven Deadly Sins. Each virtue has a host of different meanings. So with my Seven Virtues, I’ll be defining which particular aspect of that Virtue I’m following.

Today is Charity: Generous self-sacrifice.

With a sigh, I rolled off her. She grabbed at my vest, laughing. I disentangled her hands and helped her to her feet. She threw herself at me again and I wrapped my arms around her. I kissed her on that perfect, sloping forehead.

She no longer belonged to me, but to someone else. I didn’t want to, but I had to give her up. She wasn’t for me any more.

“Stay with me,” she pleaded, not realising that the best I could do was let her go. It killed me inside, to watch her go off with another man.

To be continued…

12 thoughts on “Seven Virtues Flash Fiction Challenge: Day Three: Charity

  1. David A Ludwig says:

    I can certainly identify with the one-sided love thing (and am in fact concerned I’ve probably been on both sides of it), but that’s got to be a terrible weight if all 7 Virtues are going to be in the same character. I honestly wouldn’t want to be him, no matter how much I’ll respect him if that is the case.

    Like

    • Lissa says:

      LOL much? It was super-fun to write, finding the virtue in all of his actions and having his actions and choices reflect those virtues.

      Like

  2. Kathy says:

    The girl really does seem clueless! How many blokes would just give in to her and not hold back out of respect for her upcoming marriage and future husband?

    I love this phrase: “I kissed her on that perfect, sloping forehead.” Combined with the tone of the piece, it’s simply perfect.

    Like

Comments are closed.