Seven Virtues Flash Fiction Challenge: Day Six: Kindness

seven_virtue___kindness_by_pat7-d368f9v

Lady Antimony is hosting a week-long Repentance: The Seven Virtues flash fiction challenge.

The premise of the challenge is as follows:
Seven Days
Seven Virtues
Seven Flash Fictions up to 100 words
Starting August 7.
I cannot refuse this Disney themed Seven Virtues artwork from http://pat7.deviantart.com.

The Seven Virtues are not as easily defined as the Seven Deadly Sins. Each virtue has a host of different meanings. So with my Seven Virtues, I’ll be defining which particular aspect of that Virtue I’m following.

Today is Kindness: Unselfish love, compassion, friendship.

She tugged at my vest again. I shook my head.

“Do not look so dour,” she protested. “My wedding day is nearly here. I command you to be happy for me.”

I forced a smile to my face but it did not spread to my eyes. She frowned at me and I grasped at the closest thing that would wipe that frown off her face and bring back that soul-quenching smile. My fingers closed around my grandmother’s wedding ring in my pocket. I pulled it out. I had originally intended it for her; why not give it to her anyway?

To be continued

8 thoughts on “Seven Virtues Flash Fiction Challenge: Day Six: Kindness

    • Lissa says:

      The way I feel about it is that he’s so wrapped up in her feelings and giving her a good life that he’s willing to forgo one himself… but that’s virtue for ya. Lack of selfishness.

      Like

  1. David A Ludwig says:

    Why not give it to her anyway? I like it, and really suits the character you’ve built up here that if he can’t propose to her with it he has no further use for it anyway. I especially like “Soul-quenching smile”.

    Like

    • Lissa says:

      I’m so glad you see it the way Heathcliff and I see it as well. Thank you for the compliment, i think I’m going to have to use that phrase in my books somewhere.

      Like

  2. Kathy says:

    I’ve read the end, but even knowing what happens, there is such a lovely tension in this piece – a tension which largely comes (I think) from how well Grandmother’s wedding rings are used in stories and films to demonstrate how much a person loves another.

    I know that this made me desperately hope that this would sway her to choose him, even though deep down I knew this couldn’t happen.

    Like

Comments are closed.