Seven Virtues Flash Fiction Challenge: Day Seven: Humility

seven_virtue___humility_by_pat7-d367wg8

Lady Antimony is hosting a week-long Repentance: The Seven Virtues flash fiction challenge.

The premise of the challenge is as follows:
Seven Days
Seven Virtues
Seven Flash Fictions up to 100 words
Starting August 7.
I cannot refuse this Disney themed Seven Virtues artwork from http://pat7.deviantart.com.

The Seven Virtues are not as easily defined as the Seven Deadly Sins. Each virtue has a host of different meanings. So with my Seven Virtues, I’ll be defining which particular aspect of that Virtue I’m following.

Today is Humility: Modesty, selflessness, respect.

“But this is…”

“Yes. I want you to have it.”

“Thank you, Heathcliff. This means so much to me.”

My heart broke. There was no way I could ever take away another man’s wife. I respected her decision too much, even if I did not respect him.

Of course, I could not stand by and simply be her beloved friend, either. I would have to leave as well. I would make my fortune, then return a respected gentleman with a wife of my own. Only then could I bear to be in the same room as her.

I loved her.

11 thoughts on “Seven Virtues Flash Fiction Challenge: Day Seven: Humility

  1. David A Ludwig says:

    Beautiful and nicely wrapped up. I don’t think this is a character that will ever rise above his pain, but his steadfastness in choosing to endure it definitely has my respect. I’m not sure Wuthering Heights could live up to what you’ve built it up to at this point–especially given an apparent idealization of Heathcliff’s character.

    Like

  2. Kathy says:

    Great conclusion to the whole story, Lissa, I really enjoyed reading all of these (despite my lazy lack of commenting! Sorry – I’ll catch up now!).

    You did such a wonderful job of shaping the story to the virtues, even managing to portray the virtues in a positive light, too. Which I love.

    I’m another person who will now read Wuthering Heights because of this. I just need to go to a second hand bookstore and find myself a beautiful copy.

    Like

    • Lissa says:

      That’s awesome, I really hope you enjoy it. If you liked Northanger Abbey, and Jane Eyre, I’m sure you’ll like Wuthering Heights.

      Like

Comments are closed.