Foreign Cover Friday: Halfway to the Grave by Jeaniene Frost

FCFPostTitleBar

Foreign Cover Friday is a weekly meme hosted by The Reading Fever, where foreign covers of the books we know and love are spotlighted and discussed. To join, either pick your favourite foreign cover, or pick many foreign covers, and start discussing!

This week I’m going with one of the very few vampire series that I read, Halfway to the Grave (Book 1 of the Night Huntress series) by Jeaniene Frost. These are not YA books, no way. They are very adult. I didn’t realise it was adult when I picked it up. It’s a little bit steamy. As in… a LOT. Also, normally I don’t like literary love interests, but because Bones is, in my opinion, a complete clone of Spike from Buffy when he’s being nice (which is my favourite Spike), I rather like him. I like reformed bad guys, what can I say?

Half-vampire Catherine Crawfield is going after the undead with a vengeance, hoping that one of these deadbeats is her father—the one responsible for ruining her mother’s life. Then she’s captured by Bones, a vampire bounty hunter, and is forced into an unholy partnership.

In exchange for finding her father, Cat agrees to train with the sexy night stalker until her battle reflexes are as sharp as his fangs. She’s amazed she doesn’t end up as his dinner—are there actually good vampires? Pretty soon Bones will have her convinced that being half-dead doesn’t have to be all bad. But before she can enjoy her newfound status as kick-ass demon hunter, Cat and Bones are pursued by a group of killers. Now Cat will have to choose a side . . . and Bones is turning out to be as tempting as any man with a heartbeat.

image

This is the general English-language cover used in the US, the UK, Canada, New Zealand and Australia. I picked it up in my local library because I was intrigued by the luminous quality of the girls’ (Cat’s) skin. It’s part of the story, I’m happy to report. I liked that she was dressed in killer boots that I so want a pair of my own, even if I can’t walk in them, and I like the shiny shiny dagger. The pose is an interesting one as well, and her expression: kind of fearless, defensive and alert all at the same time.

image

image

image

These are the covers for Turkey, Spain and France. I don’t like the Turkish cover at all. I feel the green text makes it feel more like a Goosebumps novel than a sexy action-packed adult vampire novel. I love the red text on the Spanish cover (sorry it’s a bit blurry!). And I think the French cover just scream class with its text choice and placement. It’s also got brighter colours which appeal more to me than a cover steeped in gloom.

Translation:
Turkish: Single grave (Night Huntress # 1)
Spanish: Blood Kiss (Night Huntress # 1)
French: At the edge of the grave (Huntress of the night, # 1)

image

This is the German cover. I think it’s very, very different to the previous English language and European covers. I love the red wash, Cat with red hair and her single green eye, the city in the background with the storm overhead and even the tribal design behind the title font. I really like it – although it does look slightly generic, and I’m not sure I’d pick it up. Because, you know, I’m not that into vampire novels.

Translation: Blood Red Kisses

image

This is the Indonesian cover, and once again I love the bright splash of colour all over the page. I love the vivid orange, the fact that Cat’s holding some kind of sword (it’s not a stake, which is weird, but whatever) and I love the graveyard at the bottom of the cover.

Translation: The Vampire Hunter

image

This Italian cover makes me feel like this book is more of an urban fantasy than a paranormal romance… but really, the book is a pretty perfect blend of both of them. There’s nothing in particular that I do or don’t like, it just doesn’t do much for me.

Translation: The Huntress of the Night

image

This is the Bulgarian cover. Is it just me, or does Cat look like she’s a CG model? There’s something weird about the whole body: the arm looks too short, the skin looks too weird, the face looks strange and the dress… I know what they’re trying to do with the dress, but to put it on the cover just makes Cat look like a slag. I don’t like this cover. It’s too poor quality. I even got excited when I thought she was actually holding a stake, but it turns out it’s just another dagger.

Translation: A step from the grave (Midnight Hunter, # 1)

 

What are your thoughts?

Which covers do you like? Which do you hate?

Check back at The Reading Fever for her Foreign Cover Friday!

6 thoughts on “Foreign Cover Friday: Halfway to the Grave by Jeaniene Frost

  1. Penelope says:

    Ooh, I really like the Indonesian cover. That orange color with the graveyard silhouette on the bottom is a cool combo. I totally agree about the girl on the Bulgarian cover; the proportions seem pretty off. Oh, and the French translated tittle is my favorite!

    Thanks so much for participating!

    Like

  2. Emilia Quill says:

    I want her boots…

    I like the Indonesian and French covers best. The orange and red work well together creating a feel fire and passion, but then there’s the graveyard as a contrast.

    Love how the french translation sounds when you say it outloud, You can say almost anything in french and it sends shivers down your back. Also it’s meaning sounds cool.

    Like

Comments are closed.