Foreign Cover Friday: Bloodlines by Richelle Mead

FCFPostTitleBar

Foreign Cover Friday is a weekly meme hosted by The Reading Fever, where foreign covers of the books we know and love are spotlighted and discussed. To join, either pick your favourite foreign cover, or pick many foreign covers, and start discussing!

This week I’ve had a look at the books I’ve read recently and settled on Richelle Mead’s Bloodlines, the first in a spin-off series from her totally awesome Vampire Academy. As Bloodlines is fairly new, there aren’t a whole lot of different covers just yet, so I’ll post the ones we’ve got.

Sydney is an alchemist, one of a group of humans who dabble in magic and serve to bridge the worlds of human and vampires. They protect vampire secrets – and human lives. When Sydney is torn from her bed in the middle of the night, at first she thinks she’s still being punished for her complicated alliance with dhampir Rose Hathaway. But what unfolds is far worse. Jill Dragomir – the sister of Moroi Queen Lissa Dragomir – is in mortal danger, and the Moroi must send her into hiding. To avoid a civil war, Sydney is called upon to act as Jill’s guardian and protector, posing as her roommate in the last place anyone would think to look for vampire royalty – a human boarding school in Palm Springs, California. But instead of finding safety at Amberwood Prep, Sydney discovers the drama is only just beginning…

image

This is the US paperback version, and it’s also the Australian. It’s OK. Sydney’s not terribly pretty but no one ever said she was, and even though we can only see half of Adrian’s face I don’t think he’s that good looking either (for the record, I’m neither Team Adrian nor Team Dimitri: I’m Team Eddie. That dhampir ROCKS!). The focus is on Sydney’s golden lily tattoo, which is mostly obscured by her hair. It’s a well-put-together cover, but it just doesn’t scream ‘Display me!’ to me.

image

This is supposedly the UK paperback version, but I got the top one, so don’t ask me. I’m glad I got the top one. I don’t like this one. I like the text with the thorns and the white background (a nice change from the normally darker paranormal YA books) but I don’t like the dagger in the heart and the cheesy rose with the purple paper… what exactly is it trying to say? Just no.

image

This is the Bulgarian version. I guess Bulgaria got their foreign rights sorted before anyone else, because I don’t see different covers for any other country. I like this one. Sydney’s got gorgeous brown eyes, the lily is much more visible, and she’s not hiding anything by looking directly at us. I like how her photo is cut off by the golden vines and the white peeks out underneath. Just about the only thing I don’t like is how her shoulders are naked and it gives the impression the model might be nude off-screen. It’s pretty. It’s not exactly genre-specific, though. But that’s OK, because it’s still a nice cover.

Translation: Blood Ties.

Believe it or not, that’s all we’ve got! I want to get back to reading my major influx of books I received this week. Reviews are going up on Goodreads.

What are your thoughts?

Which covers do you like? Which do you hate?

Check back at The Reading Fever for her Foreign Cover Friday!

4 thoughts on “Foreign Cover Friday: Bloodlines by Richelle Mead

    • Lissa says:

      I see your point about the UK cover being reminiscent of tattoo art. Maybe someone will get it as a tattoo! Perhaps that’s why I find it kitschy. Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

Comments are closed.