Foreign Cover Friday: At Grave’s End (Night Huntress 3) by Jeaniene Frost

FCFPostTitleBar

Foreign Cover Friday is a weekly meme hosted by The Reading Fever, where foreign covers of the books we know and love are spotlighted and discussed. To join, either pick your favourite foreign cover, or pick many foreign covers, and start discussing!

Continuing on with my Night Huntress theme, this week we’re looking at book 3 in the series, At Grave’s End.

It shouldbe the best time of half-vampire Cat Crawfield’s life. With her undead lover Bones at her side, she’s successfully protected mortals from the rogue undead. But though Cat’s worn disguise after disguise to keep her true identity a secret from the brazen bloodsuckers, her cover’s finally been blown, placing her in terrible danger.

As if that wasn’t enough, a woman from Bones’s past is determined to bury him once and for all. Caught in the crosshairs of a vengeful vamp, yet determined to help Bones stop a lethal magic from being unleashed, Cat’s about to learn the true meaning of bad blood. And the tricks she’s learned as a special agent won’t help her. She will need to fully embrace her vampire instincts in order to save herself—and Bones—from a fate worse than the grave.

At Grave's End (Night Huntress, #3)

This English-language version demonstrates the most awkward pose ever and proves just how flexible Cat it. The red text stands out with good contrast and I LOVE. THOSE. BOOTS. And her coat. It makes me want to become a half-vampire just so I can wear those clothes. The background it awesome – I love winter-looking things – and the white glow around Cat makes her stand out at the focus of the cover. It’s probably one of my favourite covers from the whole series.

At Grave's End \На краю могилы\ (Night Huntress, #3)At Grave's End (Night Huntress, #3)

The Russian cover on the left is nice – with that white text, it gives a real Soviet feel. By that I mean cold and bleak. Ha. Ha ha. I think the cover on the right is a reprint for the UK version.

Russian translation: On The Brink Of The GraveFroid comme une tombe (Chasseuse de la nuit, #3)

Pembalasan Dendam Sang Dewi (At Grave's End)

These are the covers for the French, Indonesian, and Italian versions. The French have done it again. This cover is just gorgeous. It’s just so pretty to see Cat and bones just standing there gazing at each other wearing heavy coats, and that background with what looks like a church steeple is sublime and the colour palette is wonderful and oh man, I gotta stop crushing on this cover. The Indonesian cover fails, which is a pity, because the previous two were really handsome. The model isn’t suitable for Cat, I don’t know what the raven is doing there, and I just don’t like it. The Italian cover is more suitable to a gothic romance and the model lacks Cat’s distinctive red hair, and it’s just kind of bland.

Translation
French:
Cold as a tomb (Huntress of the night, # 3)
Indonesian: Revenge of the Goddess (At Grave’s End)
Italian: The Edge of Night (Night Huntress, # 3)

Gefährtin der Dämmerung: Roman

This German cover is pretty! I love purple! Cat’s make up is weird and her hair is all wrong! But I don’t care because it’s purple! And it delivers its genre quite effectively because of the city in the background (urban fantasy). And it’s PURPLE!

Translation: Companion of the Twilight: A Novel
(and I just want to add that if any Twilight fans started reading these books – better vampires, hot sex – they’d probably faint)

At Grave's End (Night Huntress, #3)

This is the unabridged audiobook. I’m not sure how I feel about this. It’s got the oomph factor, but it’s just all explosion-looking (the top left corner) and Cat’s skin looks fake, not luminescent. The text is pretty, but I don’t think I’d even bother to pick it up. It doesn’t appeal to me.

What are your thoughts?

Which covers do you like? Which do you hate?

Check back at The Reading Fever for her Foreign Cover Friday!

7 thoughts on “Foreign Cover Friday: At Grave’s End (Night Huntress 3) by Jeaniene Frost

  1. Melbourne on my mind says:

    God, that really is the most awkward pose ever. It almost looks like her leg was taken from another shot and Photoshopped in afterwards! The boots are awesome though.

    The German cover is great, despite her hair being totally wrong. It really irritates me when they do things like that. It’s like the publishers didn’t even bother to read the first chapter, which is usually where the main character’s looks are described!

    Like

  2. Penelope says:

    Ooh, that French cover is gorgeous! It’s my favorite of all of them. I also like the English-language cover a lot. That post is awkward, but looks way cool. Totally wish I could pull those boots off! 😉 I don’t really like any of the others.

    Thanks for participating!

    Like

Comments are closed.