NaNoWriMo Day 2: Strange Subconcious

After achieving my word count yesterday hubs and I had cuddles while watching Heroes and Firefly. I wanted to do some more writing but as hubs is fond of saying, there’s a fine line between cuddling someone and holding them down so they can’t escape. So I gave up on writing anything more yesterday (I’d already done the bare minimum) and enjoyed my cuddles.

Then last night I dreamed about my NaNoNovel.

It wasn’t completely accurate – there were skeletons trying to break into the house I used to live in before I moved to England. All my ‘safe at home’ dreams take place there, despite the fact that I haven’t lived there in well over two years now, but it was the house I grew up in. The skeletons were like the stone weeping angels from Doctor Who: they only moved when you weren’t looking at them. Luckily for me, they also moved very slowly, on account of only being bones. And there was some guy playing the role of the big bad, even though I’ve planned all my antagonists to be female in this novel. In the dream, I was playing the role of Tina (even though she’s nothing like me) and I wasn’t particularly frightened of the skeletons.

It makes me wonder if I should add scary weeping angel-like skeletons to my novel.

I can’t even add a gif because the Doctor Who stone angels legitimately scare me.

ANYWAY. It’s Day Two today and I managed to not only give an awesome example of what happens in Tina’s day-to-day life (including getting punched in the face, which, IMO, is a very strong opening), but also set up the beginning of the inciting incident.

8 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo Day 2: Strange Subconcious

  1. Melbourne on my mind says:

    I don’t blame you for not putting in a gif of the Weeping Angels – they freak me the hell out too!

    I actually dreamt about David Tennant as The Doctor after watching the 500 Miles video that’s done the rounds on Facebook/Tumblr in the past few days. I’d much rather have that than Weeping Angels!!

    Like

  2. Kathy says:

    The stone angels are so creepy! Oh man, now I want to watch some Doctor Who! But not an episode with angels in it…

    I’m glad to hear that NaNo is going well!

    Like

Comments are closed.