NaNoWriMo Day 4: The First Hurdle

Word count goal: 6668

Achievement: 7464.

I realised something as I struggled to write a scene. It was a scene where two people who know each other but don’t know each other very well attempt to get to know each other better with a hint of romance but oh-no-we-can’t-do-this-because-you’re-a-demon-and-I’m-a-demon-hunter. And every first attempt to write something, my heroine would say something snarky. I didn’t want her to, so I had to force her to be civil, if a little defensive and wary.

I didn’t want to do my words today. This is generally the time when I tend to put aside works in progress. It’s a struggle to get to double figures and then it’s a struggle to get past 10K.

Out of the four works in progress I have aside from NaNoNovel2011, I have 11K, 10K, 7K and 3K. And from what I remember last year, it was hard to drag my ass past that 10K barrier.

So my resolve for tomorrow is add conflict conflict conflict! I write good conflict. Luckily for me, that’s exactly what comes next according to my plan. Today was a slower scene and my god, was it hard to write.

Posted on November 4, 2011, in NaNoWriMo, Storm of Blood (Storm Force #1) and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Congrats on your word count so far and good luck at breaking through that 10k barrier (and beyond!). We’ve reached the end of the first week (well, work week anyway!) and have the weekend ahead of us to blast past the 10k and leave it far behind in the dust!

    Have fun writing all your conflict tomorrow! :)

