NaNoWriMo Day 7: In Which I Almost Cry

 

A review of The Edge of Darkness is up on Gina’s blog, Fantasy Casting. We’re going to do a fantasy cast and an interview as well, so stay tuned for those!

Word count goal: 11,669

Achievement: 12,035

I can’t write romance. I can’t write this falling-in-love thing. I barely remember what it felt like to fall in love with my fiancée. As far as I am concerned I always loved him, I just hadn’t met him yet. I can’t draw on my personal experience because I’ve only ever been in two long-term relationships and I can’t even remember what it’s like to fall in love!

I can’t develop two romances at once because quite frankly Tina is aware that the hot guy Lachlan is being a jerkface and she doesn’t want anything to do with him. I feel like I’m being very mean to her when I make her think inappropriate things about the boy! And now that I’ve introduced someone who’s warning her off Lachlan, I can’t see Tina doing anything stupid like actually attending the planned party (second peak event) with him. I must make her more receptive to him!

I just can’t do this. I’m despairing.

I’m trying to tell myself that this is when I’d normally give up on a story and that I just need to keep going, but it’s hard.

Tina has another date with Tengu tomorrow, and they need to get very close very quickly. I want them to be almost dating by the time Lachlan’s party starts, so Tengu has a reason to go all alpha male on him.

Wish me luck!

11 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo Day 7: In Which I Almost Cry

  1. Palm Trees & Bare Feet says:

    I love it when writers (myself being one of them) talk about their character’s lives like they were talking about lives of close friends! Haha.

    Don’t get discouraged. I’ve had some rough times writing some of my characters because they are now going off into a totally different direction than I wanted them to!
    But, that’s also part of the experience and for me, the funnest part!

    So good luck and keep writing! 🙂

    Like

  2. Caitlin McColl says:

    I have faith in you Lissa! this is what Nanowrimo is good for – helping you to keep going past when you would normally give up on a story!

    I also totally suck at romance (and i’m totally with you about everything you’ve said about not remembering how it felt to fall in love etc! i’m exactly the same way!! i’m not one of those lovey dovey ooie gooey over the top romantic types so i can’t write like that. i am planning to have a romance of sorts in my story (maybe – i might end up dropping that! lol) and i’m dreading it. But i’m sure you’ll think of a way to have Tina start dating Tengu so Lachlan can go crazy on his ass!

    but i know she’s a strong girl so…don’t make her turn all lovey dovey crap! lol . You should try and find epsiodes of ‘Lost Girl’ to watch somehow over there (it’s a Canadian show about a girl who’s a succubus who’s best friends with a human girl (who’s a runaway and thief) and they battle all these crazy creatures (dark Fae) with the help of a sexy werewolf Detective and his sidekick Detective friend who’s a siren (and he’s a guy!). it’s an AWESOME show (adult – with sexuality and nudity and coarse language) but the MC sounds like how I picture Tina would be – she’s very strong and opinionated… sorry for going off on a tangent! lol

    Like

    • Lissa says:

      Oh, I totally forgot I really wanted to watch that show! I’ll ask Hubs if he can track down a copy. It might be cool to see if the MC is similar to how I see Tina.

      And yeah, the romance is kind of hard to write because I want it to be realistic, not insta-love. I keep trying to remember what it was like to fall in love but it was so long ago! I need to feed from what I remember.

      Like

Comments are closed.