NaNoWriMo Day 9: When I Actually Do Cry

Word count goal: 15,003

Achievement: 16,584  (2829 today, my highest so far)

Tina tricked me.

She’s been resisting the idea of falling in love with Ten because she’s still in love with Noah and feels guilty for being the one who staked him when he was about to turn her into a vampire. Oh yeah, and Ten’s a demon and she’s a hunter.

I discovered Nightwish, my favourite band in the whole world, released their new single Storytime today, so I’ve been listening to it over and over again. It inspired me to skip ahead on the date between Tina and Ten and go straight to the more interesting parts of the romance. Namely face nomming (or kissing, for those of you who haven’t been to my blog for very long).

The thing is, this kind of soul-aching romance, where the heroine is beating herself up over and over again over something that’s out of her control is the type of romance I write best. The type where the heroine’s own head is all that’s standing between her and a really decent guy who just wants to love her. A heroine with abandonment issues, with trust issues. I wrote a scene between Innocence and Garuth (my YA high fantasy couple) earlier this year that had me crying because it was so heartbreaking. Tina’s going through something very different to Innocence, but it’s still really emotional (when I realised what it was, it turns out it’s very similar to Harry Potter’s first kiss with Cho). Tina can’t handle falling in love with Ten while she’s still nursing her broken heart and guilt over Noah. This is something I’m going to have to rectify, but every time I attempt to explore Tina’s emotions on the subject I get overwhelmed and start crying.

I know everyone’s fictional, but I’m an over-emotional weeny.

Tina revealed to me that she has trust issues and abandonment issues. Neither of these revelations surprise me. She’s a little damaged. But I didn’t realise before, and now I know there’s going to be a bit of re-writing in earlier scenes to really get those feelings across.

I am the voice of never, never land,
The innocence of dreams from every man,
I am the empty grave of Peter Pan,
A soaring kite against the blue, blue sky,
Every chimney, every moonlit sight
I am the story that will read you real,
Every memory that you hold dear.

Also – I finally settled on a title: The Oncoming Storm.

8 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo Day 9: When I Actually Do Cry

  1. Melbourne on my mind says:

    Love the title! Oh, and if it makes you feel any better, I just watched the last David Tennant episode of Doctor Who, and spent about half the episode in tears. I think we need an “I’m an emotional weeny and cry over fictional characters” support group. With Tim Tams. Thoughts? 😉

    Like

  2. Caitlin McColl says:

    i’m jumping (a bit late!) on the ‘i’m an emotional weeny and cry over fictional chartacters’ bandwagon!! (and i’ll trump that and say i even get emotional at some commercials! lol)

    Like

    • Lissa says:

      I cry at commercials too, and songs that remind me of home, and even songs that shouldn’t remind me of home but for some reason do, or songs that remind me of what it was like when I was in a long-distance relationship even though I haven’t been long-distance for eighteen months now LOL.

      Like

  3. Penelope says:

    I love how much you love your characters. I guess every author loves their characters, right? But this post really shows it. Oh, and the poem at the end is so beautiful. My favorite line is: “I am the empty grave of Peter Pan,”

    Like

    • Lissa says:

      It’s the lyrics to the chorus of the song I referred to that I’ve been listening to over and over again. And I do love my characters. I even love Lachlan and his bitchy maybe-girlfriend Chelsea.

      Like

Comments are closed.