NaNoWriMo Day 12: In My Element

Word Count Goal: 20,004

Achievement: 22,106

I do violence very well. I’m not ashamed to admit that. In a review for The Edge of Darkness, a blogging and widely-read friend of mine gave it 5/5 for violence, while only 3/5 for sex and language (and none for substance abuse). I think part of my ability to describe violence is because I’m really quite mild-mannered, shy, and and introvert. I don’t really stand up for myself because I think it’s better to avoid conflict at the cost of my self-esteem (which is something I’ve tried to work on in the past couple of years, but it’s really such an ingrained part of me now that I’m not sure I could ever learn to avoid it). But I always end up imagining really horrible things happening to people who’ve been mean to me or walked all over me or just generally not respected me as a human being.

And I know that this sounds really lame and sounds like I think my book will appeal to everyone (which I know it won’t), but my high fantasy that I’m currently querying as Young Adult has its fair share of violence as well (that can easily be re-written to be not so graphic). So much so that I’m quite comfortable adding a bunch of adult fantasy agents to my query list as well. Innocence is 14 when the story starts, but she ages to sixteen in the first book and to eighteen over the next few books, and possibly (because I haven’t written it yet but I could easily make it happen) to her 20s by the end of the series. Some of the violence is passive but graphic (passive violence – think about that for a second, because I freaking love writing it). Some of it’s not very nice. It’s a lot of fun to write and I hope it’s a lot of fun to read, but it’s not nice.

Today I wrote a scene that’s by any stretch of the imagination not nice. I haven’t figured out if it’s a dream, or if it’s a spell that Lachlan’s responsible for, or if it’s a hallucination, or if Tina is going crazy because she’s falling in love with Ten, still in love with dead Noah, and Lachlan is casting spells all over her to try and make her fall in love with him. Suffice to say I can wait patiently and let my brain work out what the hell just happened. And it was a lot of fun to write 😛

3 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo Day 12: In My Element

    • Lissa says:

      You are not a failure, you are doing really, really well keeping on track like you have! You’ve made the target every day and I am so proud of you. There are heaps of people in our municipality who have fallen way behind and you’re not one of them. I’m really proud that you’ve kept going, baby.

      Like

Comments are closed.