NaNoWriMo Day 16: The Totally Awesomest Post Ever

Word Count Goal: 26,672

Achievement: 29,034 (2362)

Soundtrack: Doctor Who Season 1.

I had a lot of fun writing today’s scene. You can tell by my word count. The NaNo site is glitching so it doesn’t tell me how much I’ve written so I’m back to relying on my Word stats. The words flew easily today because I could tell exactly what was happening and how. I only paused to do some research about something I’ve never done myself, but I read a bit and watched some YouTube videos so I think I’ll manage to pull it off. I don’t want to reveal what it is but suffice to say it’s a totally awesome dream date!

I think I’m really starting to portray Lachlan as this horrible kind of guy. Not intentionally, you know, but the way Edward Cullen is represented on the page is basically in two different ways: First there’s the guy who’s in love with Bella and would do anything to protect her, and then there’s the stalky paedophile who watches her sleep. Well, Lachlan’s starting to reveal that he’s a bit of a control freak as well, which is totally appropriate because that’s exactly what I’m aiming for. I want Lachlan to represent everything that Edward, Patch and Daniel stand for in their novels (Twilight, Hush Hush and Fallen respectively). Most girls can’t see past their abs, hands and eyes to the controlling, manipulating assholes that lurk beneath. Part of me thinks there’s a real irony in that: the whole ‘beauty is only skin deep’ really applies to those YA ‘boys’ (who are really hundreds or thousands of years old but still fall in love with teenage girls like it’s all the rage). At the same time, Lachlan is totally hot but totally an asshole – only Tina doesn’t realise it yet. She’s starting to suspect, but every time she confronts him, he confuses her again with his magic. I can’t wait til she breaks free and kicks his ass demon-hunter style.

I always knew it was an awesome idea to have a male witch in this book.

8 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo Day 16: The Totally Awesomest Post Ever

  1. Kathy says:

    Sounds like you’re having heaps of fun writing this!

    This post reminded me of last night: we left the cinema last night at 11:30 (after watching “In Time”, which was a really interesting, thought provoking movie), and there’s a massive line up made almost completely of females – we saw only three guys. What else could it be but the release of the next Twilight movie… argh so pathetic and annoying and sad that they’d love such crap!

    Like

    • Lissa says:

      Um… I want to go see Breaking Dawn… except we haven’t got any money and Archer already went through the torture of Eclipse just for me… and he vowed he’d take me to a horror film to get me back and I haven’t been to one yet… so I have to wait..
      Because even though I do recognise all of the issues within those books, I still enjoyed reading them. What can I say? They are easy to read and even a little fun. Even when nothing happens plot-wise it’s fun to read, unlike the majority of Twilight rip-offs that try the same formula and fail. And I do like Kristen Stewart enough to overcome my dislike for RPat’s portrayal of a manic-depressive vampire who looks like he’s been hit by a shovel. I think he deliberately sabotages the films because he knows how bad the source material is.

      Like

      • Kathy says:

        lol well I haven’t read the books, but I have seen the first two movies, and I found the second one so painful to watch that I can’t bear the thought of seeing another one.

        I find it sad that so many young girls watch it and love it, because you look at them and you can see how desperate some are to be loved and to have someone to love, and I hate to think of how these books and films may give them them wrong idea of what love is and what a healthy relationship is like. (This isn’t to say that there are many other films and books which are just as bad or worse, of course.)

        I think it’s totally different for someone to watch a movie or read a book when they can recognise the issues with it, and know what is healthy and what isn’t.

        I just remembered that I did read about four pages of the first book, but it was a copy Julian found online, and I found it to be so badly written that I can only hope it wasn’t the final copy.

        Like

Comments are closed.