NaNoWriMo Day 17: Upping the Stakes

Word Count Goal: 28,339

Achievement: 31,049 (2710)

Soundtrack: Nothing.

Today was another one of those wrap-up-the-scene days. So there’s not much to talk about except that I’m weaving more stuff about Lachlan messing with Tina’s mind while she’s on the coolest date I could think of. Tina’s beginning to question it: in fact, she directly confronted him when he yelled at her to stop asking so many questions. I took Daniel from Fallen as my inspiration there. I’m so pleased with myself. Except that Lachlan has this ability to cloud Tina’s mind and make her think he’s just the bee’s knees. She broke out of it just before I finished what I was writing. I don’t know what’s going to happen because I want her to totally confront him and break out of the spell completely, but I need her under his spell and on good terms with him for the blood magic party. I get the feeling she’s going to get pissed and then realise she needs to go with him so turn on her girly charms to convince him to take her along. The blood magic party is the scene I’ve been most looking forward to writing – it’s going to be equally sexy as it is disturbing.

I’ve decided that I’m not going to finish when I hit 50K (which I am due to on the 27th as of today). I want this to be at least 70K, and I know I have to go back and write in some more Tina and Ten moments early on so they’re oh so very close to being a couple before Lachlan gets his paws on Tina. Tina needs to resist more, which gives Ten a chance to shine as he uses all his manly seduction to bring her a-quiver. It will be a really cool way to show the dichotomy between Ten and Lachlan. But I also need to re-shuffle a few things because I had them kiss quite early on and I don’t want them doing it quite that early: I want a little of the whole ‘will they/won’t they’ vibe going on between them, which should be really easy to get into now that I’ve thought about it on account of Ten being a demon and Tina being the one who hunts demons. So it should be easier to get some teenage angst in. #amiright?

 

I also discovered THE COOLEST WRITING HELPER EVER. Positive reinforcement totally wins.

3 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo Day 17: Upping the Stakes

  1. Archer says:

    Yay we is both on target. But alas temptation is in my way…Skyrim and Assassin’s Creed… I need to be strong

    and by that I mean I may need your help

    Like

Comments are closed.