NaNoWriMo Day 22: Blood And Seduction

Word Count Goal:36,674

Achievement: 41,023

Soundtrack: Iron Saviour, Nightwish, and Andrew Lloyd Webber’s 1980s romance music

Today was fun. I wrote the Lachlan seducing Tina but not really scene I’ve been aching to do and now Tina’s going to kick butt on the people who’ve been bullying Sarah (trying not to spoil too much what’s actually going on is really hard!!). I struggled for a bit putting the actions in order because I know there’s five specific things I want to happen, I just didn’t know how I could smoothly transition from one to the other. I think I’ve got it now. Of course it will need re-writing because first drafts are often clumsy and I know mine is! I was trying to get down everything I saw in my head, except that when I was listening to Iron Saviour (heavy speed metal) Tina wanted to go head to head with Lachlan and fight him, declare her non-virginity and not try to outwit him at all. I had to change to something softer because if she revealed that now, she’d have to reveal she was a demon hunter and I know that can’t happen because the witches still need to think she’s part of their coven! Oh, Tina, if only you weren’t so strong willed.

In non-NaNo related news, after living in the UK for eighteen months I finally signed up for a library card. My library is within walking distance, and I don’t really have an excuse as to why it took me so long. I guess I thought I was okay with all of my partner’s books and the books I brought with me, not to mention the books I’ve bought since I’ve lived here… but who am I kidding? Libraries are like opium dens to me (at least, I imagine so). I’m so excited to visit the library in a couple of days and pick up my card that you’d think I was going to visit a house filled with puppies!

2 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo Day 22: Blood And Seduction

  1. Melbourne on my mind says:

    I really need to get a new library card now that I’ve moved back to Melbourne. You should definitely check out Kelley Armstrong’s stuff now that you don’t have to worry about the cost!! (For me, that’s always the downside to discovering a new author – wanting to read everything they’ve ever written…)

    Like

    • Lissa says:

      Kelly Armstrong’s definitely on the list. Archer’s been recommending her to me for years, ever since we met. Yes, I was surprised to find a bloke would read urban fantasy written by a woman but then Archer just proved he has no problem reading books written by women! What a guy!

      Like

Comments are closed.