Just Popping In

I’ve not been sure whether or not I should post something so personal on my writing blog, but I’ve decided that I’m going to because it explains why I’m not online very much lately. I’ve been absent from my usual haunts, popping on once or twice a day to say something if I need to – like  to mention to Lauren DeStefano that I dreamt about Wither, or to thank my totally awesome friend on Goodreads for helping me find a very important poem.

Yesterday my grandfather passed away in Australia. He’s been increasingly ill for about the last eighteen months, and I’d been holding out hope that he’d last until I got home and I’d get to say goodbye. Unfortunately his weakened immune system couldn’t hold off a respiratory infection and he died peacefully in the presence of his family. I was asked to track down the poem I mentioned earlier to confirm its title and author for his funeral.

My grandfather is my hero. He was forcibly taken from his Ukrainian village by the Nazis when he was a young man. I don’t know many details, because he never talked about it and we were encouraged never to ask, but he escaped the factory and migrated to Australia. He met my grandmother, who was also an immigrant avoiding the war, and they settled in my home state and had a family.

The Viking and I are having a subdued Australia Day celebration tomorrow. But if I’m not around lately, now you know why.

9 thoughts on “Just Popping In

  1. Katy says:

    Oh Lissa, I’m so sorry. In your short post you can see how much he meant to you, and he certainly sounds like a remarkable man. Our thoughts are with you, here in Aus. xo

    Like

  2. Lissa says:

    Thanks, guys. My grandad really was an amazing person. I think I’m going to take a little break from the internet for a while because of other priorities.

    Like

  3. Cameo Anderson says:

    For the longest time I couldn’t figure out why I was unable to use my wordpess account to comment on your blog. I finally figured out it was because I have wordpress installed on my own server so my account isn’t actually on wordpress.com and therefore I don’t have a valid account to use. Anyhow, sorry to hear about your loss but your grandad sounds like he’s got an awesome story. Too bad you didn’t ask more (though it was probably respectful) you probably could have used it for some writing inspiration. I go back and look at doodles I’ve done in the past or those of my family and friends for inspiration. I imagine this is a little more concrete inspiration but I regret not talking to my great grandmother more about her past.

    Like

    • Lissa says:

      I know the basic story, and when I was a teenager I harboured fantasies of writing his biography – but things got in the way: university, work, my relationship that drew me to England, and of course the respect of simply not asking him to relive the worst time of his life. Of course I regret it now. I could still write something pretty amazing because of the source material, but now it’s too close to home. It always has been.

      Like

Comments are closed.