Valentine Flash Fiction #6: Happy Valentine’s Day!

Prompt:Holding hands, cherish.

Word count:250.

Today’s challenge is a little different. I decided to combine all of my previous prompts and write something romantic instead of dark! See if you can find all of my previous prompts:
Holding hands, cherish, promises, candlelit, lifetime, heart, roses, kiss, chocolate, love, romance.

Candlelit Dinner

Image from dreamstime.com.

Lionel extended his hand over the candlelit table top, lavishly spread with chocolates and roses, and took Wendy’s hand. She shivered in anticipation as she met his loving gaze.

“Wendy, my love,” Lionel started, then hesitated. His heart thundered in his chest and he swallowed nervously. “We’ve been together for two years now…”

Wendy nodded, silently encouraging him. Her plunging red dress, the most expensive garment in her wardrobe, was out on its debut. Her hair was freshly washed and coifed, her make-up impeccable, and she’d even visited a manicurist for the first time in her life. After all, this was the most important night of her life. She needed a perfect canvas to present to her man.

“And in those two years we’ve become extraordinarily close…”

She nodded again. Lionel briefly squeezed her hand.

“I guess what I mean to say is, that if you’ll have me, I promise to give you a lifetime of happiness. I will cherish each and every moment with you. Wendy, I want to spend the rest of my life with you. Will you marry me?”

Wendy swallowed the girlish squeal threatening to escape her throat as Lionel produced a small plain black box and presented it to her. She gingerly opened it – and there, nestled on the satin, was an enormous diamond engagement ring.

What else could she say to an evening filled with romance?

“Of course I’ll marry you,” she said to Lionel. They sealed the bond with a kiss.

“Happy Valentine’s Day.”

Posted on February 14, 2012, in Flash Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Happy Valentines Day baby… When you wake up we’re going to the zoo

