Things I Am Irrationally Afraid Of

I was talking the other day to a close friend and telling her that I like to face my fears. I moved to the other side of the world to be with the Viking even though it scared me. I’ve enquired about donating blood because I’m afraid of needles (but I can’t give because my partner is English – he can’t donate in Australia either). I write about the most horrific things I can think about because it scares me, and in doing so I hope it horrifies and frightens my readers.

But there are a few things I am still irrationally afraid of and I can’t do anything about it.

One of them is spiders. I’m scared of them. Always have been. A few years ago I was the only person in my house late at night and a huntsman appeared on the wall. I talked myself into attempting to move it, got the broom and everything, preparing to take it outside; but in the end it moved about an inch and I nearly screamed. Then I tried to take a photo so I could tell my friends on Facebook how brave I was… and failed at that as well. I even tried to convince myself that she wasn’t ugly but her many eyes were in fact beautiful… I failed at that as well. In the end she ran into my room and I had to wait until my brother came home before I could go to bed.

I’m a wimp when it comes to insects as well. I don’t like wasps or millipedes or cockroaches. I hate bees and grasshoppers. I even avoid dislike moths. Just about the only insect I can stand is the butterfly, but even then I don’t want them touching me.

So that’s one irrational fear I have. I’d add a photo but I don’t even like looking at pictures of insects. I’ve thought about facing my fear of spiders by doing that ‘stick your hand into a tank full of spiders thing’ but I think I might faint if I did that.

I do have a second one. I’m not even sure where it started. I think it started one Halloween (which isn’t really celebrated in Australia) when I was quite young, about eight or nine, and someone told me that if you said ‘Candyman’ three times into a mirror in a dark room, a man akin to Freddie Krueger would appear over your shoulder. Or maybe try to kill you. That idea is possibly based on a film, possibly called ‘Candyman.’ I wouldn’t know because I don’t watch horror films.

I know I scared myself when I had glow in the dark braces at age fourteen and smiled at myself in a dark mirror. All I saw was a skull. I didn’t recognise myself.

I’ve been afraid of dark mirrors ever since. At night time, if I need to go into the bathroom I will always either turn on the light, or avoid looking at the mirror. This was particularly strange when we lived in the UK and had a big wardrobe with full-length mirrors on it.

I don’t know what’s going to happen if I glimpse myself in a dark mirror. Maybe I won’t recognise myself and I’ll scare myself. I seem to be good at doing that.

Do you have any irrational fears?

Do you have fears that you’ve faced and overcome?

18 thoughts on “Things I Am Irrationally Afraid Of

  1. Archer says:

    The Candyman myth is say his name 5 times in a mirror and he will appear covered in blood and bees and kil you with his hook. It was a pretty good movie (which spawned this incarnation of the myth as far as I know) but I think the Urban Legend that spawned it was the Bloody Mary story, which is believed to originate around 1666, in which mary was a child killer. Where if you call her name 3 times in a mirror in a darkened room she will appear and gouge your eyes out (the most popular version of the myth) but there are lots of possible stories that could be the origin of the myth lol.

    As for spiders, I ain’t a fan. I’m terrified of small enclosed spaces. Always have been. And I’m seriousply pissed that I can’t give blood!

    Like

  2. Emilia_Quill says:

    I have an odd fear of spiders. The big hairy ones are ok, I’ve even petted a tarantula’s leg in a zoo, but the smaller ones that aren’t so hairy scare me. I blame a book on spiders which had a huge picture of a funnel spider on one spread, a black widow on the next and read deadly with big letters. I should be afraid of the big ones, but somehow my mind doesn’t equate them with deadly.

    My really irrational fear is big flowers. If I see a sunflower I will back away quickly, I don’t want to touch them or be near one. Another one is rafflesia which grows in tropical climates so I’m not going to run into one, but the mere thought of one makes me queasy.

    I should probably try and touch a sunflower. My fear of them is sort of ridiculous 😛

    Like

    • Lissa says:

      You’re okay with big spiders? I’m more scare of them than I am of little ones. I wonder how this fear of flowers came about? That’s fascinating!

      Like

  3. Archer says:

    As for fears I faced and overcame. I used to be terrified of corpses until I had a work placement in a morgue through college, which then hired me. So I faced down my fear and now not a lot freaks me out.

    Like

  4. Melbourne on my Mind says:

    1. People dressed as animal characters. They freak me out. Disneyland is basically my worst nightmare.
    2. Butterflies. I have no idea why. But I’m terrified of them.
    3. Horses. They need to stay away from me.

    I also can’t stand the idea of the cupboard doors being open while I’m asleep. I don’t really know why. I just know that they have to be closed before I turn the lights off!

    Like

    • Lissa says:

      Oh yeah, they do seem – pardon any rudeness, as it is not intentional – quite irrational. I can understand horses – one of my characters in my high fantasy is afraid of horses as well. But people dressed as animal characters? That is a little strange. I wonder from whence this fear developed?

      Like

      • Melbourne on my Mind says:

        I can actually explain the horse one and the animal characters one (the butterflies one remains a mystery!). My dad took me to see the CUB Clydesdales when I was two, and made me stand next to them for a photo. One of them stamped its foot, as horses do, and the sight of that giiiiiiiiiant foot coming down a millimetre from my tiny foot was sufficient to freak me out forever!

        And the animal characters is because we went to Disneyland when I was about six and just old enough to realise that Mickey had Mickey’s head but human legs. HUMAN LEGS. So…yeah.

        Like

  5. Caitlin says:

    I, too, am afraid of spiders. I can’t kill even the tiniest one. I’ve had so many scary run ins with spiders over the years. I know they’re good for the ecosystem and all that but…*shudders*.

    And I’m also irrationally afraid of heights (well, maybe that’s not *totally irrational come to think of it!) and I had my first genuine panic attack about 2 years ago when we were vacationing in Oregon (along the coast) and hubby stopped at this view/lookout area that was really high up and there was a really beautiful beach way far down and stretching into the distance – and I was paralysed with fear and couldn’t even get out of the car and was hyperventilating. it was really scary and hubby thought I was being ridiculous and didn’t understand it. Either did I really cuz that’s never happened to me before – even though I know i’m afraid of heights!

    Like

    • Lissa says:

      LOL I think spiders is a common answer. I don’t think being afraid of heights is irrational! That’s a very healthy fear. I’m not quite afraid of heights, but I do have a healthy respect for them.

      Like

  6. Amanda says:

    1) Clowns. To this day I HATE clowns. Omigosh.

    2) Cockroaches… I’m with you on that one. I was looking for something under the bed one day, and when I pulled my hand back out there was this dead cockroach and—I think the whole neighbourhood heard me.

    3) Sadako. Yes this one is rather specific. I was stupid enough to watch the Japanese version of “The Ring” years before it was even popular, thinking it was some drama mystery – because damn it I can’t read the Japanese blurb! – and, well, it just didn’t sit well with twelve year-old me.

    Like

  7. mem666 says:

    Don’t watch the movie Mirrors then as you you expect things to happen when your back is turned lol

    Like

Comments are closed.