And We’re Done

I know it’s been a long time coming (because I started Storm Front #6 way back in November 2011) but finally I am able to say that Tina and Ten’s first full-length adventure is complete!

Fireworks

This is what I see in my head… image from dreamstime.com

It’s clocking in at 78.5 thousand words in the first draft. After editing there will be some added and some taken away. After beta-reading there will be some added and some taken away. And after professional editing there will be some added and some taken away. I was initially aiming for 80K, but it’s okay to fall short a little. It’s still the longest book I’ve completed. The Edge of Darkness clocked in at 52K (in one month), and Dadewalker and Darkwalker both clocked in at 70K (I won’t tell you how long I worked on those babies for, because it’s embarrassingly long).

I’ve also had awesome feedback from voters on the poll for naming Storm Front #6, and even though the poll is still running for a few more weeks I’m pretty sure I know what the new name will be. But I won’t tell you yet because it’s a secret. If you haven’t voted yet, please do! It’s so easy: look, I’ll even link you right here so you don’t have to go looking for a link.

There’s no rest for the wicked, though. I’m plunging straight on and continuing to write The King’s Phoenix as part of Camp NaNoWriMo.

Posted on June 3, 2012, in On Writing, Storm of Blood (Storm Force #1) and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Congratulations Lissa! This is a MAJOR accomplishment! :)

  2. What an accomplishment! Congratulations!!

    • Thanks, Penelope! It feels so great to have it over and done with – but they won’t leave me alone! There will be another adventure one day.

