Camp NaNoWriMo Update (1)

Ugh, what is this? I’m already two weeks in and I haven’t told you ANYTHING about the new book I’m writing?

That’s because unlike Storm Front #6, this baby isn’t going to be read anytime soon.

But it’s going well. VERY well, if I do say so myself. I’m in love with my characters and my world and the plot and I’m relishing finally being able to give Jessa the freedom to tell her story, rather than keeping her bottled up and waiting in line!

Jessa is not a nice character. She’s selfish and spoiled and lazy and entitled. She also does not want the destiny thrust upon her, but she will need to accept it to ensure her own survival. She’s my favourite character that I’ve ever written.

The words are flowing so nicely that sometimes I skip a day and then write 3K the next to catch up.

BUT.

I am exhausted.

I feel like I’ve been writing non-stop forever.

I feel like this ‘hobby’ is already a second job for me. I work at it like it’s a second job. My actual job is stressing me out so much I am sometimes close to tears. Sometimes I just want to relax and then I feel bad that I haven’t made my words for the day, and who’s the only person who’s disappointed?

ME.

And I HATE disappointing myself.

A few days ago I considered quitting Camp NaNo, but I’m not normally a quitter. I’m going to keep going.

But it’s hard.

However, it is also totally awesome.

Posted on June 16, 2012, in Camp NaNoWriMo, On Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. The best thing about writing is that you have to be able to connect with your own story and character. Since you love Jessica, and your story, it’s not really work for you!

    I’m glad that your story is going well, and I wish you the best of luck throughout it!
    :)

    • Thank you very much! It still does feel like work – especially when I want to do something with totally no responsibility like play a game instead of write. However, I am enjoying it a LOT. Most of the time.

