My Five Favourite Fictional Boys

Note – I can’t say ‘book crushes’ or ‘book boyfriends’ because it is near impossible for me to feel attraction to a character that’s purely in my head, let alone an underage one.

Tucker from the Unearthly series (Cynthia Hand)

Book Passion for Life casts this guy as their Tucker Book Boyfriend. Yeah, he looks vaguely how I imagine him. Hand managed to do something amazing when I read Unearthly. She managed to get me to change my mind. I very distinctly remember bitching about Tucker’s dickishness early in the novel, and I believed I claimed he was going to have to work very hard to get me to come around. Well, it worked! I think Tucker is gorgeous and sweet and attentive and patient – all good traits in the boy who’s meant for Clara! I’m not particularly into romances, and Unearthly is definitely a romance, but I enjoyed it immensely. Tucker’s a keeper. I’m dying to know what happens in Boundless, book 3. I’m pretty sure I refer to Tucker as a cowboy lumberjack.

Sam from The Wolves of Mercy Falls series (Maggie Stiefvater)

I have a very soft spot for Sam and Grace because I don’t see their relationship as bestiality, but as a very mysterious metaphor for a long-distance relationship. I can totally relate to that. Sam’s patient, caring, and wise. He’s mature way beyond his years. I don’t even mind the occasional fur and howling, if he must. He handles his… shall we say… ‘issues’ like a pro. I enjoyed their story in Shiver. The subsequent stories not so much. Even for a romance, I liked them. I guess I’m just a sucker for a teenager who thinks about marriage. That’s dedication for you.

Brigan from Fire (Kristen Cashore)

What I like best about Brigan is that he falls in love with Fire despite her beauty. It’s a reverse Beauty and the Beast. I loved the developing romance – two broken, vulnerable characters discovering a tenderness for each other where hatred and enmity are supposed to reign. I wouldn’t exactly call him abusive in the beginning, but he hates Fire with a passion and treats her a such. I love his turnaround – it creeps up on you unexpected. He’s not even handsome! Oh, Brigan! You’re one of my favourites.

Eddie from the Vampire Academy/Bloodlines series (Richelle Mead)

Eddie rocks my socks. I like him a heel of a lot more than Dimitri and Adrian. Which is funny, because the others have so much more screen time. Eddie is like a big brother figure, which is why I like him so much. He’s loyal and doesn’t hesitate to jump into a fight. He’s capable of holding his own, and he’d make the perfect Guardian. I didn’t even mind that he got transferred over to Bloodlines, although I did have an issue with his romantic pursuit in that book.

Bones from the Night Huntress series (Jeanienne Frost)

Do I even have to list the reasons? I mean, Spike from Buffy when he has a soul? How could anyone refuse?
I think Bones is one of the sexiest literary heroes there is. Not because he’s ‘hot’ or possessive, but because he’s unfailingly loyal, utterly fearless, and a little territorial. Don’t get me wrong: a guy who emotionally and physically manipulates or abuses a girl is so not cool. Bones doesn’t manipulate, but he radiates powerful sexuality that feeds off one and only one woman: his Cat, or ‘Kitten’, as he likes to call her. If you even so much as looked at Cat the wrong way he’d rip your heart out. There’s something immensely attractive knowing that a guy has your back no matter what – not because he needs to protect you or that he condescendingly thinks you’re fragile or vulnerable, but because he genuinely loves you. I love this book series.

August is the Book Birthday month for my first novel, The Edge of Darkness, a deep-space cyborg dystopian.
Please go here for your chance to win a paperback copy.
Ends September 30.

6 thoughts on “My Five Favourite Fictional Boys

  1. Keertana @Ivy Book Bindings says:

    BRIGAN! I think Brigan is my favorite fictional guy, hands down. I just LOVE him! 🙂 In terms of Stiefvater, I think Sean Kendricks totally wins me over every time. I know he isn’t exactly a romantic interest as much as Sam maybe is, but there’s something SO swoon-worthy about Sam! 😉 I guess after those two, it would be Rowan from Wanderlove, Jonah Griggs from Jellicoe Road, and Barrons from The Fever Series for me! Wonderful post, Lissa! 😀

    Like

  2. thebookslayer says:

    I love Bones! I think my favorite moment in the series is in the second book where Cat learns that she didn’t need to go commando. He just wanted her to for his own enjoyment! I think I died laughing and still do to this day! Great picks Lissa.

    Like

Comments are closed.