Halfway Report

halfway report

It’s a little more than halfway through April’s Camp NaNoWriMo and I have discovered a few things:

The book wasn’t as finished as I thought it was. I thought it only needed one or two more scenes when in fact it needed a whole heap more, including two murders, a horseback chase, a ‘The Last Airbender’-inspired battle, betrayal, and more murder. I love how even when you have the bare bones of a plan, when you’re in the process of writing, your brain opens up and offers you filler scenes that help wrap the story up.

Apparently I don’t like writing on weekends or Friday nights, so I’m now about 8000 words behind my goal.

That means to date I’ve only written 10,000.

However, I’m not letting this stress me out. This Camp Nano was supposed to get me back into writing slowly and most nights I can dash off 1000 words in a half hour or an hour if I get distracted or need to do some research (like how someone wears a monocle – how interesting!). I’m primarily interested in getting this book finished, because finishing a book is really tough for me.

I’m not using my soundtrack.

I have a very massive plot hole I need to fill and I have no idea how I’m going to do it. That will be fun when it comes time to edit.

I can’t decide if more characters should die, primarily because I have a main character who can bring the dead back to life.

I’m enjoying it, but it’s a lot of work and I’m still trying to find my writing/life balance.

