disney princess lineaup

30 Day Disney Princess Challenge: Day 12

30 day princess challenge badge

Favorite Non-Animal Sidekick

olaf greeting

Olaf from Frozen.

When I first saw Frozen I didn’t really like Olaf. I thought he was annoying and something about him being a snowman annoyed me even more – maybe I had a less neutral reaction because The Snowman cartoon is banned in my family’s house because it makes my brother cry. Doesn’t matter that Walking In The Air is covered by one of my favourite bands.

But on subsequent viewings I found Olaf positively charming. He’s so funny and innocent and quirky.

olaf impaled

I grew to adore Josh Gad’s performance, especially his rendition of In Summer.

put me in summer

happy snowman

It was Gad’s performance of Olaf that led me to being more interested in the musical The Book of Mormon, in which he was an original major role.

olaf watch out for my butt

Olaf has been pretty influential on me. I got married shortly before Frozen became a huge hit, and Olaf said something that really resonated with me.

olaf love wisdom

Shortly after I got married, my husband decided to seek treatment for his mental illness, and that meant I was to become his carer. That meant putting his needs before my own. At first it was a bit of a struggle, but I’ve learned, thanks to the wisdom of a comic relief sidekick snowman.

