desktop-03

Beautiful Books January 2017

bb-redone

Beautiful Books is a linkup hosted by Cait @ Paper Fury and Sky @ Further Up and Further In.

It’s aimed at writers so we can answer the questions about our characters and our books. It’s designed to help you get to know your book better! (And also give your followers a sneak peek of your works-in-progresses.)

Beautiful BOOKS

Cait and Sky say: “Just like every year, we’re giving our monthly link up “Beautiful People” a small rest so we can focus on “Beautiful Books”.

Today’s set of questions will be all about GOALS and EDITING.

The Questions

  1. What were your writing achievements last year?

In 2016 I finished the first draft of Winter Witch, wrote most of the sequel Winter’s Wrath, and wrote and published 4 chapters of No Angel on Episode Interactive.

2. What’s on your writerly “to-do list” for 2017?

I’d like to publish the first trilogy in my Chaos of Stars contemporary romance trilogy.

I’d like to finish Winter’s Wrath.

I’d like to write Winter Warrior, the final book in the Wraith trilogy, to go with Winter Witch and Winter’s Wrath.

I’d like to finish No Angel on Episode Interactive.

I’d like to get started on some other Episodes once i figure out the main conflict/plot.

3. Tell us about your top-priority writing projects for this year!

I would say publishing the serial, except hat I need to hire an editor first, and they cost a pretty penny that I just don’t have without the knowledge that I’ll make the money back.

4. How do you hope to improve as a writer? Where do you see yourself at the end of 2017?

At the end of 2017 I want to overcome my fear of publishing novels again.

I hope that by the end of 2017 I have published my contemporary romance trilogy and have Wraith nearly completed and ready to go in 2018.

I want to be a successful Episode author as well.

5. Describe your general editing process.

I write my first draft. I take a break from the manuscript. I write a second draft. I take another break. I use EditMinion to help me catch overused words, passive voice, weak words, ‘said’, and cliches. Then I do one more draft and send it to a professional editor. This is what made my first professional editor say “Easier copyedit ever!”

But you know, they don’t come cheap.

6. On a scale of 1-10, how do you think this draft turned out?

If we’re talking specifically about Winter’s Wrath, I think this draft turned out OK. I still need to finish it but I’m excited to write the rest. Unfortunately, I took a break in December to catch my breath after NaNo and work on some Episodes, and then my husband had a horrible accident that put him in hospital, so I haven’t had a chance to finish the draft yet.

7. What aspect of your draft needs the most work?

Characterisation, I think. Just making my characters seem more real.

8. What do you like the most about your draft?

I don’t really know. The showdown between two powerful sorceresses?

9. What are your plans for this novel once you finish editing? More edits? Finding beta readers? Querying? Self-publishing? Hiding it in a dark hole forever?

I guess I’d like to find a beta-reader. I’m trying to listen better to my own instincts as everything a beta reader’s ever raised with me I’ve already thought about previously. If anyone’s interested in beta-reading the Wraith trilogy, let me know. I can’t guarantee when it’ll be finished. Unfortunately my real life often gets in the way of my writing.

After that I’d love to self-publish the Wraith trilogy because I already have a cover for the first book that I won from an artist way back in 2014. Once again I have to save up several hundred dollars for covers for the other two with no real promise of ever making the money back from sales.

10. What’s your top piece of advice for those just finished writing a first draft?

LET IT REST. Don’t go immediately from complete first draft to editing the first draft. Your eyes need a break and they’ll catch errors better once the manuscript isn’t so familiar to you.

Save

Save

Save

Save

Leave a Reply

